Niagara Falls, the world’s second largest water fall and the most acclaimed waterfall in the world is a collective name for three waterfalls that straddle the international border between the Ontario province in Canada and New York state in the United State Of america. From the largest to the smallest, the three waterfalls are the Horseshoe Falls, the American Falls and the Bridal Veil Falls. The Horseshoe Falls lies on the border of the United States and Canada with the American Falls entirely on the United States’ side, separated by Goat Island. The Bridal Veil Falls are lies on the United States’ side, separated from the other waterfalls by Luna Island. Niagara Falls is known both for its beauty and as a valuable source of hydroelectric power.


The Maid of the Mist, the double-deck tour boat take visitors on excursion of Niagara Falls. the Maid of the Mist journey begins at the Observation Tower, where guests are given a souvenir rain poncho to wear and board the double-deck Maid of the Mist tour boat. From there, the boat ferries past the base of the American Falls, and onto the basin ofHorseshoe Falls–the dramatic passage leading you through the roiling waterfall whitewater and massive rock formations. The Maid of the Mist returns guests to shore with newfound appreciation of the power and grandeur of Niagara Falls. The boat trip commences at a calm part of the Niagara River, near the Rainbow Bridge and takes its passengers past the American and Bridal Veil Falls, then into the dense mist of spray inside the curve of the Horseshoe Falls, also known as the Canadian Falls. The tour starts and returns on the U.S. side of the river.


The Niagara Falls National Heritage Area is located on a 13 mile stretch of the Niagara River. Within those 13 miles, you can experience the tremendous history and culture that helped shape North America. Rich in natural and cultural resources, the Niagara Falls region has significant historical associations with American Indians, early European exploration, the French and Indian War, the American Revolution, the War of 1812, and the Underground Railroad. The Niagara Falls National Heritage Area is one of 49 National Heritage Areas in the United States. Designated by the United States Congress in 2008, its mission is to preserve, protect and promote the historic, natural and cultural resources of the area stretching from Niagara Falls to Old Fort Niagara.


At Niagara Falls, you can cross from the U.S. into Canada (and vice versa) over the Rainbow Bridge, though all persons (including children) must have a passport or proof of identity. No matter how you cross (on foot, by bike or by car), you’ll also be expected to pay a small toll. For children, a birth certificate will suffice. Visit the Canada Border Services Agency website for the latest information on foreign exit and entry requirements.









Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s